[Kristin Harmel] The Winemaker's Wife [witchcraft Book] DOC

Kristin Harmel Ô 9 Read

Hose they love and the champagne house that ties them togetherNew York 2019 Liv Kent has just lost everything when her eccentric French grandmother shows up unannounced insisting on a trip to France But the older woman has an ulterior motive and a tragic decades old story to share When past and present finally collide Liv finds herself on a road to salvation that leads right to the caves of the Maison Chauvea I received a free copy of The Winemaker s Wife by Kristin Harmel from Goodreads for my honest opinionA wonderful work of Historical Fiction with dual time lines that take place between World War II and present day The focus of the story is on a champagne house in the Champagne region of France A story of a woman who spent her whole life trying to make amends for mistakes she made in her youth There are twists and turns within this story you never see comingThe characters are wonderful and real and full of life The writing is brilliant and you will feel the struggles each character faces Absolutely brilliant

Review Ð E-book, or Kindle E-pub Ô Kristin Harmel

The Winemaker's Wife

The author of the engrossing international bestseller The Room on Rue Amélie returns with a moving story set amid the champagne vineyards of northern France during the darkest days of World War II perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The NightingaleChampagne 1940 Inès has just married Michel the owner of storied champagne house Maison Chauveau when the Germans invade As the danger mounts Michel turns his France wine WWII present day and love all of this wrapped into one amazing difficult to put down readWe meet Inez Celine Michel Thor Liv and Liv s French grandmother Edith as the story moves back and forth in timeWe find out about the lives of the winemakers during the war and a secret that grandmother has kept for many years as well as a connection that the vineyards a restaurant and the characters have to both time periods and to their livesGrandmother Edith was my favorite charactermysterious and stubborn all rolled into oneLiv was likable as wellInez Celine Michel and Thor were interesting and their wine tunnels were fascinatingWe learn of the war the resistance the French people involved in the resistance and how the danger of making one simple mistake could alter the safety of many people THE WINEMAKER S WIFE is another marvelous intriguing read about the resiliency and determination of the French people and the entire European populationThose of us who were not living during this time do not have any idea of the horrors and hardships endured by the European people Ms Harmel weaved a beautiful tale filled with authentic characters and a story line that kept me turning the pages to learn as well as cry with the charactersAbsolutely LOVED this book Do not miss reading this book 55This book was given to me as an ARC by the publisher via Net Galley in exchange for an honest review

Review The Winemaker's Wife

Back on his marriage to begin hiding munitions for the Résistance Inès fears they’ll be exposed but for Céline half Jewish wife of Chauveau’s chef de cave the risk is even greater rumors abound of Jews being shipped east to an unspeakable fateWhen Céline recklessly follows her heart in one desperate bid for happiness and Inès makes a dangerous mistake with a Nazi collaborator they risk the lives of t Informative beautiful and tragicThe Winemaker s Wife is a stirring immersive story set in France during the early 1940s as well present day that is told primarily from three different perspectives In s Chauveau a young wife who after feeling neglected and misunderstood naively makes choices that have far reaching life changing conseuences C line Laurent the half Jewish wife of Chauveau s winemaker who lives in constant fear of the advancing Germans except when deep within the vineyard caves where she finds solace hope contentment and love and Liv Kent a recently divorced American who journeys to France at the reuest of her grandmother only to uncover a family history that s littered with secrets betrayals and sacrificesThe prose is preceptive vivid and sincere The characters are courageous vulnerable and resilient And the plot is a heartrending tale that gives us a uniue view into the struggles sacrifices horrors and bravery of those who lived and survived in the Champagne region during this heinous time in historyThe Winemaker s Wife is ultimately a story about life love loss deception determination perseverance resistance efforts intricacies of winemaking and the importance of forgiveness It s pensive moving and thoroughly absorbing and a fantastic choice for historical fiction fans and book clubs everywhereThank you to Simon Schuster Canada for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review


10 thoughts on “The Winemaker's Wife

  1. says:

    Thanks to NetGalley and Simon Shuster Canada for a digital galley in exchange for an honest review Kristin Harmel presents a well researched and detailed story set in wartime Reims France 1938 1943 and the other in contemporary France 2019 I g

  2. says:

    France wine WWII present day and love all of this wrapped into one amazing difficult to put down readWe meet Inez Celine Michel Thor Liv and L

  3. says:

    The synopsis provided for this story is a bit misleading Less than 15% of the story deals with the French Resistance; and over it goes into little to no details about what they did other than hiding the munitions as stated in the synopsis The members are never named the groups are unknown and the effect of their cause is anonymous The reader never sees the outcome of what came from their help with the resistanc

  4. says:

    Informative beautiful and tragicThe Winemaker’s Wife is a stirring immersive story set in France during the early 1940s as well present day that is told primarily from three different perspectives; Inès Chauveau a young wife who after feeling neglected and misunderstood naively makes choices that have far rea

  5. says:

    This is one of those times where I feel finishing the book was redemption This book features the Champagne area of France during WWII We have alternating storylines with Ines Chauvin Edith Thierry and Celine Laurent in the 1940's and present day with Liv This is your standard historical fiction novel with a few twists heartbreak an

  6. says:

    Rating 35 stars rounded down to 3 starsThis is a dual timeline book mainly focusing on northern France during WWII There are some contemporary chapters interwoven which helped propel the storyline I’m giving the book 35 stars rounde

  7. says:

    My thanks to NetGalley and Gallery Books for sending me an advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review All opinions are my own and are not influenced by the publisher Okay Minority opinion alert This book currently has a very respectable 414 average on Goodreads so if the synopsis sounds like something you'll love by all means don't let my review turn you off of it But my honest reaction to this novel was mainly disappointme

  8. says:

    3 champagne starsThis is a well researched historical fiction tale set in the champagne region of France mostly during WWII I truly enjoyed learning about the process of maintaining a vineyard the process for making champagne and a bit about what the inhabitants of this region did as part of the French resistanceThe three women in this book – Celine Ines and Liv mostly didn’t capture my sympathy until the end of th

  9. says:

    I received a free copy of The Winemaker's Wife by Kristin Harmel from Goodreads for my honest opinionA wonderful work of Historical Fiction with dual time lines that take place between World War II and present day The focus of the story is on

  10. says:

    What a story It’s both complex yet simple and embodies the feelings ideas and fears of people and how they vary in extreme situations in this case WWII You may be thinking another WWII book; let me assure you there are thousands of WWII stor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *