free [ Seedtime Ebook ] author Scott Chaskey – Book, Kindle eBook or eBook Online


CHARACTERS Seedtime

Seedtime

With the core myths of ancient cultures and the development of human consciousness Their story remains vitally important today as the corporations that manufacture GMOs threaten our food security and the future of seed cultivated agricultureThe stakes for those concerned with preserving biodiversity and ecological integrity are highBalancing a wide view of politics and history Chaskey alights from life on the farm he has cultivated for 25 years to conjure Greg I won my copy from Goodreads GiveawaysThis was a beautiful thoughtful book on par with commentary of great works of literature but concerning garlic wheat and clover The very idea of a book devoted to discussing seeds can cause some people to laugh and others to yawn but they are too uick to dismiss what are essentially integral foundations of life on earth I immensely enjoyed Scott Chaskey s voice as he worked through thousands of years of evolution that present us with today s agriculture It is too easy to take for granted what can readily be found year round at the grocery store and Chaskey s voice is light enough to touch on matters of global concern without instilling the reader with a need to prepare their own doomsday bunker Fans of Michael Pollan Rachel Carson and William Shakespeare will find beauty in Chaskey s homage to the earth and its biology I appreciated how incredibly well read Chaskey is and how uick he is to give credit to authors and explorers who have come before him The only small critiue I have is that the end gets a little political but gets back on track by the final page and the reader can resume sharing in seed culture and going forth into the world appreciative of this worldHappy Reading

REVIEW ´ STATIONROADSURGERYWIGSTON.CO.UK Õ Scott Chaskey

Or Mendel's breeding experiments that yielded our modern understanding of genetics; he also introduces us to several bioneers such as the geobotanist Nikolay Vavilov and agriculturalist Cary Fowler who are preserving global biodiversity through seeds Integrating scholarship with accessible storytelling Seedtime is a celebration as well as a call to action urging us to renew our role as citizens of nature in ecologist Aldo Leopold's phrase not as conuerors of it As the title suggests this book is a complete study on seeds their history and the science behind them how humans have depended on and interacted with them how they are in the middle of political debates but most of all how they hold promise for all future lifeTold in a hopeful and poetic manner author Scott Chaskey uses storytelling inter weaved with factual evidenceto tell the incredible story of seeds on Earth I enjoyed the first several chapters on the history of seeds and their interactions with humans the most Some of the middle chapters that talked of politics and raw data were a little tedious to me but still worth being toldSeedtime was provided for free as an Advanced Reading Copy in return for an honest review

Scott Chaskey Õ 1 CHARACTERS

Scott Chaskey working farmer poet and spiritual father of the community farming movement considers the web of biodiversity and resilience at the heart of our cultural inheritance by masterfully weaving history politics botany literature mythology and memoir into a beautiful and instructive bookIt's hard to think of a subject fundamental to the sustenance of the human race than seeds Having coevolved with the Earth's plants insects and animals seeds are entwined I read this book because Mann Library at Cornell University was running a super sweet Valentine s Day promotion where they matched you up with a blind date book in their collection and this book was my blind date As I started to read the book I was skeptical but as I reached the middle of the book I really started to enjoy the waxing on about seeds their remarkable and varied features and their importance to us and to biodiversity in general Chaskey would meander through themes in an unpredictable manner which grew on me as I progressed One of the most profound things that I realized through reading this book is that for millions of years no soil existed on the earth Just a simple fact that is pretty profoundIt was a nice diversion to read this especially as spring as coming on and we re getting ready to plant our garden for the first time in a few years This year I had a much deeper appreciation of each seed that I started indoors and the peas that we ve put into the ground so far


10 thoughts on “Seedtime

  1. says:

    I read this book because Mann Library at Cornell University was running a super sweet Valentine's Day promotion where they matched you up with a blind date book in their collection and this book was my blind date As I started to read the book I was skeptical but as I reached the middle of the book I really started to enjoy the waxing on about

  2. says:

    My reaction towards this books so depends on my mood First time learning about Nikolai Vavilov and am currently growing Moskvich tomatoes which was developed from a Russian Institute named after him For a couple of years I've been growingsaving seeds from sunflowers and that is a fantastic labor of love I go through 20 lb bags of sunflower seeds rather uickly feeding the birds and suirrels and wonder that if th

  3. says:

    Fabulous book on seed saving Lyrical and informative

  4. says:

    I received this book as a giveaway through the First Reads program It is always exciting to get a new book in the

  5. says:

    I won my copy from Goodreads GiveawaysThis was a beautiful thoughtful book on par with commentary of great works of literature but concerning garlic wheat and clover The very idea of a book devoted to discussing seeds can cause some people to laugh and others to yawn but they are too uick to dismiss what are essentially integral foundations of life on earth I immensely enjoyed Scott Chaskey's voice as he wor

  6. says:

    A First Reads ReviewSeedtime is part memoir part science lesson and part history lesson Scott Chaskey not only spends a significant amount of recounting his own experiences as a farmer but he also traces the history of crop plants from the e

  7. says:

    As the title suggests this book is a complete study on seeds their history and the science behind them how humans have depended on and interacted with them how they are in the middle of political debates but most of all how they hold promise for all future lifeTold in a hopeful and poetic manner author Scott Chaskey use

  8. says:

    It took a while for Scott Chaskey to catch his grove but once found this book was immensely enjoyable This well researched read takes one from the ancient begins of seed to the modern age of GMO’s

  9. says:

    Interesting Some good informative bits; however the author seemed to wander aimlessly in several chapters where the introduction of the topic didn't hold for the remainder of the chapter But it did provide a few intriguing topics and titles worth future investigation

  10. says:

    Top 5 Science and Nature PLA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *