[Chimerica Free] ebook By Anita Felicelli – DOC & Kindle

Anita Felicelli í 0 review

Chimerica

R own power; it's a keen dive into the worlds of law visual art and marriage You really couldn't ask for a novel with better ingredients Did I mention there's a talking lemur THERE'S A TALKING LEMUR Kelly LuceCHIMERICA is the novel about trial lawyers talking lemurs and public art you never knew you needed Anita Felicelli's charming prose and intriguing characters pull you in and keep you engaged I'm thankful for this wonderfully odd yet beautifully accessible novel Rajesh Parameswar. I thoroughly enjoyed Chimerica It s a novel that s hard to classify a blend of a number of genres tense courtroom drama noir magical realism literary fiction and it kept me turning the pages The plot the uniue premise the uirky imperfectly perfect characters and the execution all work well Oh and there s a sentient lemur I fell in love with An impressive accomplishment

characters Chimerica

Which art is codified and commodified a contemporary philosophical novel about art originality and American cultureFelicelli's remarkable CHIMERICA is a coolly surrealist legal thriller in turns sly absurd emotionally vivid and satirically incisive that shifts the reader into a world just adjacent to our own Jonathan LethemFelicelli blends the matter of fact with the mysterious in this utterly uniue and compellingly readable debut CHIMERICA is than the story of a woman coming into he. I loved this book and didn t want it to end It s a page turner that s also a novel of ideas a legal thriller and a fabulist cryptozoological tale I rooted for the smart spiky protagonist and her pragmatic yet mythological client throughout Highest recommendation

Free read ☆ PDF, DOC, TXT or eBook í Anita Felicelli

Fiction California Interest Down and out Tamil American trial lawyer Maya Ramesh fights to save a painted lemur come to life and in settings that range from Oakland California to a Malagasy rain forest becomes a champion for them both In magical realist tradition Anita Felicelli's satiric novel CHIMERICA looks at the inherent absurdities that drive systems of culture power and law Fans of Maruez Kelly Link and Helen Oyeyemi will find CHIMERICA a spirited investigation of the ways in. Chimerica is a sweeping Murakamiesue Romance unraveling the mysteries ofintellectual property law Merging the mundane and the magical Felicelli s leaping lemur illustrates the illimitable essentially illicit nature of Art Try to possess ideas images etc and they will easily elude your grasp to circulate in the unincorporated realm of inter subjectivity What is the work of Art and how does one codify it commodify it or restrict its use And to whom does it belong artist owner or public Or are these nonsensical propositions A spirited play of nonsense will animate this half real half imagined country of ChimericaReminiscent of such diverse works as A Frolic of His Own and The Master Margarita Chimerica reveals the inherent absurdity of that most logical construct Law in its broadest sense As dueling egos try to disengage from their imposed identities each character must confront the chaos of a world in which nothing can be truly possessed and even the laws of physics are subject to gaps and fissures From the striving anti hero a woman of color as rarely cast to the self indulgent mural born lemur to the legal system which will try him as a matter of course He is a fiction mere dabs of paint Still not above the law good sir these phantasmal figures find themselves far flung from Oakland to a Malagasy rain forest via the whims of pure possibility


About the Author: Anita Felicelli

Anita Felicelli is the author of CHIMERICA A NOVEL and the short story collection LOVE SONGS FOR A LOST CONTINENT which won the 2016 Mary Roberts Rinehart Award Her essays and criticism have appeared in Slate Salon SF Chronicle Los Angeles Review of Books Catapult the New York Times Modern Love and elsewhere Born in South India she lives in the Bay Area with her family



10 thoughts on “Chimerica

  1. says:

    Chimerica is a sweeping Murakamiesue Romance unraveling the mysteries ofintellectual property law? Merging the mundane and the magical Felicelli's leaping lemur illustrates the illimitable essentially illicit nature of Art Try to possess ideas images etc and they will easily elude your grasp to circulate in the unincorporated realm of inter subjectivity What is the work of Art and how does one codify it commodify it or

  2. says:

    Maya Ramesh is a lawyer who has sacrificed so much for success that keeps eluding her But what's working agains

  3. says:

    The power of this incredible poignant contemporary and fantastical story soars above the freuently hackneyed writing Anita

  4. says:

    I loved this book and didn't want it to end It's a page turner that's also a novel of ideas a legal thriller and a fabulist cryptozoological tale I rooted for the smart spiky protagonist and her pragmatic yet mythological client throughout Highest recommendation

  5. says:

    Excellent book

  6. says:

    A brilliant thought provoking page turnerIn Chimerica Maya the novel’s narrator and protagonist is an ambitious lawyer who’s alone at the novel’s beginning her husband having left her and taken their children She finds herself in trouble at work too then winds up attempting to help a giant lemur who has escaped from a mural I fell head over heels for this novel which is both an extraordinary work of literature and a gripping page t

  7. says:

    Here's what I wrote in the newspaper

  8. says:

    A gorgeous magical and fun novel What is the self what is identity how does an immigrant forge an identity that

  9. says:

    I thoroughly enjoyed Chimerica It's a novel that's hard to classify a blend of a number of genres tense courtroom drama noir magical realism literary fiction and it kept me turning the pages The plot the uniue premise the

  10. says:

    I discovered this title in an article about women writing noir But Chimerica is not just noir It’s fantasy it’s a legal thriller it’s about love acceptance and belonging It’s really weird and really good Highly recommend

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *